Congratulations to our Award Winners

 194070_10151224957951818_441519102_o                    168859_179197785435264_2691351_n

The annual Cobh & Harbour Chamber dinner was held recently in Fota Island Resort Hotel with guest speaker John Mullins, Chairperson of the Port of Cork. In his address, John spoke about the increasing number of liners visiting Cobh. There are over sixty liners this year and the plan is to increase this number to eighty plus over the next few years. This is excellent news.

The Business of the Year Award was presented to Fota Wildlife Park, which is celebrating thirty years in business and is still growing. Sean McKeown accepted the award from Neill O’Carroll, Chairperson of Philips 66 Ltd, on behalf of the Wildlife Park. Ironically, the award was won by Fota Wildlife Park ten years ago and Neill presented the award to Sean on that occasion too. Phillips 66 Ltd have sponsored the Business of the Year Award for the past ten years.

The Cobh and Harbour Chamber Person of the Year Award was presented to Heather Bird for her continuous voluntary work with organisations on the Great Island and in particular for her forty years service to Cobh Museum. Heather was on the first committee for the Museum in 1983 and has remained a driving force since then. She was presented the Chamber Person of the Year Award by Chamber President Brian Curtis.

The Presidents’ reception was kindly sponsored by Ray and Maura Keating of Londis Plus supermarket, Newtown, Cobh.

Please view our gallery for a selection of photographs from the event.